Blackouts, crackwhores and wildlife. Oh My! [ August 14, 2003, 9:11 p.m. ]

I am on the edge of blackoutsville.

Seriously.

Go about 2 miles to the east.. ..no power at all. But here at my house we have all the modern comforts of home, AC and a cable modem.

It was a tad freaky tho. I was at work when the power went out for about 5 mins then came back on. This set the fire alarm off so we had to evacuate the building. We stood in the 90 degree heat for a while.. ..just long enough to get nice and sweaty. Since we�ve had about 3 tornado warnings a week for the past 2-3 weeks, someone thought maybe there was a storm somewhere. We decided to turn on a radio.

No radio stations.

No TV stations.

No cell phones.

What the hell is going on?

I can see huge plumes of smoke coming from the downtown Toledo area.*

By the time I made it home, our power had been restored. But everything to the east is fucked. Those poor bastards in New York. Oh and CNN already composed a theme song AND a graphic. BLACKOUT 2003!!

*(Apparently the oil refineries have a safety thing that burns off extra oil in cases like this. Be prepared for those Nazi�s at BP to jack the price of a gallon up 10 more cents)


A few weeks ago R. said something had eaten one of the bushes in our front yard. I figured a rabbit had nibbled at it and he was exaggerating. I was surprised to see what was left of a 36� shrub..just a few dead twigs in the ground. It looked like a deer had eaten it. How could that be? I live smack in the middle of a city. A few mornings later R. saw 2 deer across the street. Now the past few nights I�ve seen a group of 6-8 adult deer with 2 fawns.

I can buy crack, get a check cashed AND see huge wildlife in the same block!



Now Playing: "Numb" Pink

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design