Not MIA [ July 26, 2005, 9:38 a.m. ]

Yes�I am alive

I could have update this thing many times..but I wouldn�t have much to say..my life is boring�and the heat continues. The words �heat advisory� are evil evil evil. At 9 am it�s already over 80 with a heat index in the 90�s.

The weather has taken a toll on my garden and it�s taken a toll on me. We didn�t have rain for nearly a month. What was left of hurricane Dennis dumped some rain, but the downpours were deluges, not the steady soaking rains we need. All those containers I planted require watering twice a day. Despite a feeding schedule it seems most of the flowering plants have gone on strike. I�m soooo not into it this year. I�ve killed a few things. Apparently avocado plants don�t like full sun, and my impatiens are making me impatient. I�ve thought about pitching them all into the trash. The castor beans are tall but haven�t filled out at all. Plus the damn wind keeps knocking them around.

On the other hand�from the street the front beds look lush and tropical. Only when you get close do you see how ugly it all really is. I don�t understand.

Fortunately, my hummingbirds aren�t affected and they are my bright spot in a dull brown garden.

I�ve also been watching way too much television and reading book after book. I�ve got the new HP to read as soon as I finish my library book. I�m excited because a program called Dirty Jobs premiers tonight and it looks absolutely disgusting. And somehow I�ve gotten hooked on Big Brother again which is a 3 night a week commitment. At least the DVR allows me to skip the drama, commercials and Julie Chen.



Last week my sister and brother-in-law visited and we all went to Cedar Point. It had been at least 5 years since my last visit and I wasn�t sure I would have fun on the rides. As I�ve gotten older, I�ve developed a fear that I�m going to die complicated by my fear of heights. It ended up being a wonderful time and the feeling I was going to die went away by the third ride. R. didn�t fare as well and he puked about 2 hours after we got there. My brother-in-law didn�t do to well either. Fortunately they could hang out with each other while my sister and I tortured ourselves on every ride we could. I faced my fear of heights and rode the 420 foot coaster, which I wasn�t sure I would go near. Knowing my Mother (at age 61) had ridden it already forced me to go ahead with it. And I loved it.

The best part of the coasters are the pics they take while you ride. It�s a tradition in my family to locate the camera before riding and then make some ridiculous pose. I�ve learned they will not allow you to grab the breasts of the person next to you for the picture, no flipping the bird or obscene gestures either. Once Mom pulled a glitter wig out of her purse as we were headed to the top of the hill, now that�s planning ahead! We rarely buy those pictures�but it sure is fun to knock the kids out of the while exiting the ride to get a look at ourselves pretending to be asleep or checking our watches while hurtling by the camera at 80 mph.


I�m trying contacts again. I had worn contacts for about 18 years before I developed some problems with my eyes. Since then I haven�t been able to find a lens that is comfortable and doesn�t turn my eyes a lovely shade of scarlet 30 mins after I insert them. These new ones are feeling pretty good. The eye doctor used the dreaded phrase �at your age� again but at least he was complimenting me..my prescription hasn�t changed and I have no signs of being far-sighted yet. I did find out my vision is 20/600, not good..not good at all.

I still hate my job and have done nothing about changing that.

Jonathan�it�s nice to see you back and well. Here�s to you.


Now Playing: "In the Jailhouse Now" Soggy Bottom Boys

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design