Winter Weather Advisory [ 2003/01/27, 5:51 p.m. ]

When I glanced at the morning news while getting dressed for work, there was a little -6� in the corner of the screen.

Ugh.. .. ..below freezing is unfair, but this below zero shit is tragic.

Starting at 6am and throughout the day tomorrow.. .. ..another 4-6 inches just in time for the commute to and from work.

OK..I surrender.

Winter has just kicked my ass.


Actually, today is the 25th anniversary of my "big weather event" survival story. The Blizzard of 1978. This area got hammered by this huge storm. There were 61 deaths in Ohio. People froze to death in their cars while they were trapped on impassable roads. The day before was warm and rainy. There were no warnings that we were going to have a snowstorm. I just remember waking up and it was very dark out and you could hear the wind howling.

My Mom was stuck at work. She was a nurse and there was nobody coming in to replace her. My Dad told us it was very dangerous outside and we couldabsolutley NOT go outside to play.Then he fell asleep on the couch.

My brother and I were outta there within 10 minutes. It was amazing. The visibility was less than 15-20 feet. The wind was so loud you couldn't talk. But it was so quiet at the same time. No traffic, no people.. ..just white and wind. The snow was like being sandblasted. You had to keep your nose covered to keep snow out of it.

Since we lived in town, we weren't worried about getting lost. We walked everywhere and eventually came home. We didn't have school for a week. My Mom got home 2 days later via snowmobile and the police.

We were lucky, our power stayed on. Many people were without power and heat. I had friends who had to burn their furniture to keep from freezing to death.

Since I am a weather nerd.. ..this was something I'll never forget.

Hmm..that 4-6 inches doesn't seem that bad after all.



Now Playing:

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design