OWE [ June 08, 2003, 11:01 a.m. ]

I�ve finally seen some hummingbirds around the yard. And a few birds I couldn�t identify because they were too far away to get a good look. I�ll have to dig out my bird books and look through them. I�m thinking they were flickers.

Yesterday I went to the Old West End (OWE) festival with Kevin. I haven�t been there in years. I haven�t missed much. The OWE is a historic area of Toledo full of beautiful old homes.. ..and lotsa queers. In Toledo there seems to be 3 types of queers. Queens, drunks and snobs. At the OWE festival, you usually find all three types rolled into one SuperQueer. I�m not that type of homosexual that gets excited about the gown that Miss Kiarra Chocolat wore in last night�s pageant. Listening to someone ramble on and on about their marble sideboard bores the shit out of me. And drunks.. ..well you can�t talk to a drunk at all. Of course..if they wanted to talk about their orchids or gardens.. ..I�d be all over them. GardenQueens are perfectly acceptable.

Hmm.. ..this seems to be making a short story long. The first party was nice although I really don�t know that many people anymore. The second party had killer margaritas and a cute dog. The third party was a bunch of trolls (and I hate that word..but it�s true) ogling the fresh meat. I dumped Kevin at that party and went home. Maybe it was the guy in the blouse and straw hat.or maybe it was the guy who worked his cancer into every conversation. �Yes..it sure is a beautiful night. I remember a night like this last year right after I had my third tumor removed from my left lung.. .. ..�

The highlight of my day was pouring beer down Kevin�s leg and then turning away quickly so he wouldn�t know it was me. He was kinda drunk and it worked every time. Then there was some drama about a �borrowed� golf cart that I didn�t quite understand.

I�ve decided I need to get out more. Most of my friends live in other cities and I�ve done a pretty good job at isolating myself here in Toledo. I just wish us gaybees had something to do other than go to bars. Blech.

New topic:

I really haven�t missed coffee like I thought I would. And I never got the caffeine withdrawal headaches everyone said I would have. And.. ..I�m managing to stay awake until 10 pm now. And it looks like the medication is working so I won�t need to go thru all the horribly embarrassing medical tests. Yaaaay.

I moved all of the plants from their winter home to the sunroom. My gardenia has three buds..the first time the dumb thing has flowered since I bought it 3 years ago. And all of my violets are blooming. They will bloom until January if I keep feeding them.

I took 3 showers yesterday. I hate being sweaty. And I just cooked some fak�n bacon and I feel smelly and bacon-y. I guess it�s time for another shower.



Now Playing: Paradise City- Gun and Roses (get offa me...it's the radio)

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design