Bugs [ March 28, 2004, 11:12 a.m. ]

It was warm enough yesterday to open a few windows and think about spring cleaning.

Think about it. Not actually do it. I was on call again and had the whole �I don�t want to do anything productive because I might get called� type of thing. Now it�s Sunday and I have 300 things to do.

I did manage to vacuum up all the frickin� bugs. I don�t know what it�s like in the rest of the world, but we have been overtaken by asian ladybugs in Ohio. These aren�t like the cute harmless ladybug that lived with James in the Giant Peach; these are hateful, smelly bitey things. Some Einstein brought them here as a biological pest control and, having no predators, they�ve multiplied like mad. I was just reading a pest control site and apparently they like light colored buildings with southern exposure and lotsa foliage.. ..like ivy. Check, check and check.. ..we got it all. Then yesterday I went out on the front porch and there were thousands of boxelder bugs engaged in some sort of insect orgy. Ugh!

It�s very difficult for a germ-o-phobe to admit he has a bug problem. I am powerless over this. I can�t call Orkin because I am worried about the pets getting poisoned. I think I�m going to Lowe�s to see what options I have.


Lately I�ve been watching Great Blue Herons and Snowy Egrets fishing in the river. Yesterday I saw a pair of rose-breasted grosbeaks. My goal this year is to spot a bald eagle in the neighborhood.

Yesterday I went to the produce market because I wanted to make guacamole. I got home and unpacked the bag.. .. jalapenos, cheese, plums, a cucumber and some asparagus. No avocados. Alzheimer�s?

Madonna is touring.. ..no dates announced for Detroit. I can�t imagine she would skip her hometown..the closest announced date is Chicago.. ..4-5 hours away. Hopefully she�ll add some more dates. :)



Now Playing: It Doesn't Have to Be- Erasure

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design