Jammin [ June 06, 2004, 10:39 a.m. ]

Two weeks in a nutshell.

Went to Cinci to see G for her bday. We had a wonderful time. Went to Jungle Jim's which was a bit of a disappointment as it was packed and disorganized. They are in the middle of an expansion so things were all moved around. Plus we were on a schedule. They were out of Jarlsberg but I stocked up on Cadbury Flake.

We also went to the Cincinnati Zoo which was nice except for the 20,000 children, 5,000 rednecks and the 3 billion cicadas. The whole day we had to yell to be heard above the deafening chorus. I�m not sure if we are going to have that problem here, it looks like we are on the edge of the zone. But we haven�t had any cicadas here . ..so they probably haven�t hatched yet. I think our time is mid June.

The manatees were sooo cute. I want to get one as a pet. They remind me of the Hankster. The highlight of the zoo visit was watching the man climb into the bald eagle exhibit to retrieve his child�s shoe. I imagined the eagle tearing off his scalp and pecking out his eyes in front of the crowd. I was somewhat disappointed it didn�t happen. What a fucktard, and what a great example to set for your children. And he had the nerve to be angry with the zoo for �taking too long� to send an employee to get the shoe. I have an idea.. ..if your screaming monster can�t behave in public..keep it at home.


Yesterday I was such the Martha Stewart. Nope.. ..I wasn�t dumping my stocks..I made strawberry jam, macaroni salad, angel food cake and finished planting a few things that were still laying around. Then I repotted some ferns, poinsettias and my crown-of-thorns. The poinsettia I rescued from the dumpster at work has become a small shrub.

I put a new burner and igniter in the gas grill. The igniter would not light the burner. So.. ..after about 300 tries..the thing worked.. ..as my face was 2 feet from the grill. There was suddenly a �WHOOMP� and all I saw was red. I fully expected to find myself sans eyebrows when I looked in the mirror but everything was intact. What a stupid stupid stupid thing to do! Not as dumb as climbing into an eagle pen.. ..but pretty fuckin stupid. I won�t be doing that again.. ..

(I just tried my jam.. ..fabulous! Now I get to make another batch..yesterday was the test run.)


I continue to struggle with the coffee thing. Last week I fell off the wagon again after a night of interrupted sleep due to an inability to regulate my room temperature, nightmares about terrorists and tornadoes and the endless playing of Outkast�s �Roses� over and over and over in my head. After drinking three cups of coffee I realized I was sweating profusely. Hmm..maybe that�s why I�m always a sweaty mess. I�ll keep trying to quit.. ..I make no promises.

Welp.. ..it�s off to the jam factory.

PS HELP..I can't get links to work in this damn thing..any ideas?

Now Playing: "Love Don't LIve Here Anymore" Madonna

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design