D-I-V-O-R-C-E [ December 31, 2004, 4:01 p.m. ]

Last night my computer and I officially divorced ourselves from Norton Systemworks. I have to say I feel like I have a new computer. I started reading all these terrible things about Norton and finally decided we had a good run but our relationship had soured. The final straw was when Norton came home late and drunk, slapped me around and took 77 minutes to run a virus scan which completely froze up my puter for the duration. Also the firewall provided by my ISP sucked ass.

I went to Best Buy and bought McAfee Internet Security Suite. Actually I bought a copy at Sam's club and then stopped at Best Buy where it was $10 cheaper. When I got to the checkout it rang up $40 more than the price marked. The cashier explained there was a $40 rebate and marked price was AFTER the rebate.

I politely pointed to the "BEST BUY $29.99" sticker on the box and explained rebate or not...I planned on paying BEST BUY $29.99. He apologized for the inconvenience and we stood there and stared at each other for a moment. Finally he conceded and I walked out with it for $29.99. I'm taking the other copy back to Sam's.



I have no plans for New Year's. I'd rather stay home where it's safe and sane than be out in the drunk driving craziness. I probably won't even stay up late enough to see midnight. My Season 5 Simpsons DVDs came today...so that's my big plan. Pajamas, maybe a glass of wine and hours and hours of Homer. I really don't like holidays...and when I was at the store yesterday they were replacing the Christmas shit with Valentine's shit. Give me a break.

Now Playing: "Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing" Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design