Hey Ma..they killed some more of them Irakee bastards! [ April 05, 2003, 9:09 a.m. ]

As usual, I am up with the sun. And tonight we jump ahead so I have weeks of adjusting before I will be able to sleep like a semi-normal person.

I took a few days off this week, hoping to get some yard work done. Of course, the weather has been wretched. Cold and rainy (and sleety) not at all conducive to gardening. I bought 60 Caladium bulbs..where the hell am I going to put them? Bought a pile of castor beans but chose not to make an inappropriate ricin joke, fearing I would end up on Fox news.

Still managing to avoid the media coverage of the war. I read the newspaper and catch a quick update on NPR. I hate seeing pics of the dead soldiers, smiling for the camera, not knowing that they will soon be dead in a country most people can�t point out on a map. Those who celebrate war should take a long look at those faces. It�s easy to be excited about �kicking some Iraqi ass� when you don�t have to leave your Lazy Boy, pork rinds and beer within reach. I was equally angered by the �No War� signs posted all over ultra-liberal Ann Arbor on Wednesday. I wish the world was that simple and by putting a PEACE sign in your yard meant you were actually contributing something towards it. It�s too bad that those who choose to exercise that right are being called un-American. I�m pretty sure the Dixie Chicks are to be declared the next target in the �War on Terror.� (Actually.. ..I detest them but they still have the right to speak their minds.) Who knew three women with fiddles could inflict so much damage on our national pride? Off with their heads!

I can�t help but notice the parallels between Saddam�s television appearances and Bush�s. Both promise a defeat of the others� Army and talk of the evil enemy. Propaganda is propaganda folks..it doesn�t matter which language it is presented in.

Well..that was quite a rant wasn�t it? Ahem..

Saw Dreamcatcher yesterday. Heh. As far as Stephen King adaptations go, it wasn�t too bad. The last 10 minutes turned into a special-effects crapfest that bore little resemblance to the book. The movie started 20 minutes later than the given time after a Pepsi commercial, a Toyota commercial and an endless string of previews for movies I wouldn�t let Spunky see..Malibu�s Most Wanted, Terminator 338859935.5, some Jim Carey piece o� shit, a Meg Ryan piece o� shit and then a computer animated short film that almost sent me to the manager�s office demanding my money back for promising me Dreamcatcher at 12:30 pm.

I watched The Pillow Book the other night. Other than Ewan MacGregor�s gorgeous dick..it had no redeeming qualities. Afterwards I learned the director also did Prospero�s Books, the only movie I�ve ever walked out on.

Last night was a �surprise� party thrown by a coworker at a local restaurant. �Surprise� because she was insistent that I be there promptly at 6 and called several times to remind me. I am incredibly uncomfortable being the center of attention. At least the place didn�t sing Happy Birthday to me. I always tell my friends that I WILL walk out if I see I group of perky servers headed towards our table with a birthday song on their lips. It turned out to be a nice dinner and I enjoyed it. And I got a Simpsons travel mug, what more could I ask for?

And thank you thank you to my d-land pals who sent me many birthday wishes this year. I really appreciated it!

Now Playing: "I Dont Understand Anything" Everything but the Girl

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design