Oh Calcutta! [ May 17, 2005, 9:36 p.m. ]

I bought a new computer on Sunday. I brought it home�spent hours updating Windows, Office etc..download, reboot, download reboot. You get the idea.

Then suddenly the screen went black with just a flashing cursor. I�m not computer expert but I�m pretty sure that�s not a good sign. I called HP tech support and was promptly connected to �Christopher� in Calcutta.

After we got the name confusion out of the way�when I told him my name he assumed I was repeating his name and we did a few lines of �Who�s on First?� Ninety minutes later, after he had me digging inside the CPU and hooking and unhooking things, he proclaimed my motherboard was dead. So I exchanged it and spent the whole day yesterday updating and rebooting, updating and rebooting, rinse and repeat.

Now�just a word about Best Buy�s �customer service.� It sucks. Have you ever noticed if you are just browsing there�s some geek all over your shit showing you the latest DVD�s. If you are there to drop big buck they ignore you like you have dog poo on your shoes. So..Best Buy�s loss was Office Depot�s gain.

The garden�s are coming along nicely. I�ve planted salvia geraniums, petunias, bee balm, thumbergia and some other stuff hummingbirds like but I can�t remember the name. I�ll probably plant the rest of the stuff next weekend.

New birds at the feeder include hairy woodpeckers, a beautiful indigo bunting, goldfinches (for some reason I never saw any last year even tho they are common here) and today my first hummingbird�at least the first I�ve seen. Then there is a bird I hear calling all the time but I can�t find the damn thing. I really want to know what it is. The other morning (at 2 am) a nighthawk sat in the tree 5 feet from my window and screamed all night. Scared the hell out of me. On a quiet night I can hear the spring peepers singing in the marsh.

I love nature.


Now Playing: Law and Order SVU

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
pics
rings
reviews
extras
guestbook
notes
host
design